SC tackles today petitions of 7 disqualified party-list groups

Supreme Court

MANILA, Philippines – The Supreme Court (SC) is set to tackle today petitions from seven more party-list groups that the Commission on Elections (Comelec) disqualified from next year’s elections.

Supreme Court of the Philippines

The groups – Alliance for Nationalism and Democracy (Anad), Philippine Guardian Brotherhood Inc. (1Bro-PGBI), Guardians Nationalist Phils. Inc. (1Ganap/Guardians), Agapay ng Indigenous Peoples Rights Alliance Inc. (A-IPRA), Kaagapay ng Nagkakaisang Aguilang Pilipinong Magsasaka (Ako Agila), Alab ng Mamamahayag (Alam) and Bantay – hope to get relief from the high court to be able to join the party-list polls.

They filed their respective petitions over the past week, apparently following the steps taken earlier by eight other groups that were able to secure last week a status quo ante order from the SC enjoining Comelec from implementing its disqualification orders against them.

For FULL STORY, click here.